City Escape: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

City Escape: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
This Bucks County covered bridge route is meant for laid-back scenic cruising. Along the way you’ll be rewarded with canopied country byways, crossing eight beautifully maintained covered bridges and through historic villages with an abundance of eclectic shops and restaurants. Riders will want to stop often.


Approximately 113 miles

Meet-up Spot

Washington Crossing Historic Park, 1112 River Rd, Washington Crossing, PA

Lunch Stop

The Freight House Restaurant, 194 W Ashland St, Doylestown, PA, (215) 340-1003. Menu includes appetizers, salads, seafood, and signature sandwiches.

Scenery (4 out of 5)

Historic villages, sweeping vistas of the Delaware River, quaint stone farmhouses, meandering brooks, and the iconic covered bridges are a visual delight.

Traffic (3 out of 5)

Traffic on the country roads is usually light, but it can be heavy in and around the villages, particularly on weekends.

Difficulty (2 out of 5)

The route has numerous sweeping curves and elevation changes but nothing too challenging.

Road Conditions (3 out of 5)

The main roads are generally in very good condition, but some of the backroads have potholes and rough patches.

Points of Interest (Covered Bridges)

Van Sant
Also known as the Beaver Dam Bridge, the Vant Sant was built in 1875 and is located in New Hope, PA.

The Loux covered bridge was created in 1874 on Wismer Road and crosses Cabin Run Creek in the Plumstead Township.

Cabin Run
Also located in Plumstead, the Cabin Run was constructed in 1871 and can be found on Covered Bridge Road.

Built in 1832, the Erwinna issituated on Giegel Hill Road in Tinicum, PA, and is the shortest bridge in Bucks County.

The Uhlerstown is the only bridge that crosses the Delaware Canal. It is located in Erwinna, PA, and was constructed in 1832.

Also referred to as the Slifer’s Bridge, Knecht’s was created in 1873 and crosses Durham Creek in the Springfield Township.

Sheard’s Mill
Sheard’s Mill covered bridge was built in 1873 and is situated between East Rockhill and Haycock Townships on Covered Bridge Road, which extends over Tohickon Creek.

Pine Valley
This bridge is located in a more populated area than some of the other bridges, so expect to see more traffic. The Pine Valley can be found on Old Iron Hill Road in Chalfont, PA (at the New Britain and Doylestown junction).