City Escape: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Text: James T. Parks • Photography: James T. Parks

This Bucks County covered bridge route is meant for laid-back scenic cruising. Along the way you’ll be rewarded with canopied country byways, crossing eight beautifully maintained covered bridges and through historic villages with an abundance of eclectic shops and restaurants. Riders will want to stop often.

Length

Approximately 113 miles

Meet-up Spot

Washington Crossing Historic Park, 1112 River Rd, Washington Crossing, PA

Lunch Stop

The Freight House Restaurant, 194 W Ashland St, Doylestown, PA, (215) 340-1003. Menu includes appetizers, salads, seafood, and signature sandwiches.

Scenery (4 out of 5)

Historic villages, sweeping vistas of the Delaware River, quaint stone farmhouses, meandering brooks, and the iconic covered bridges are a visual delight.

Traffic (3 out of 5)

Traffic on the country roads is usually light, but it can be heavy in and around the villages, particularly on weekends.

Difficulty (2 out of 5)

The route has numerous sweeping curves and elevation changes but nothing too challenging.

Road Conditions (3 out of 5)

The main roads are generally in very good condition, but some of the backroads have potholes and rough patches.

Points of Interest (Covered Bridges)

  1. Van Sant

    Also known as the Beaver Dam Bridge, the Vant Sant was built in 1875 and is located in New Hope, PA. 
  2. Loux 

    The Loux covered bridge was created in 1874 on Wismer Road and crosses Cabin Run Creek in the Plumstead Township.
  3. Cabin Run

    Also located in Plumstead, 
the Cabin Run was constructed in 1871 and can be found on Covered Bridge Road.
  4. Erwinna

    Built in 1832, the Erwinna is
situated on Giegel Hill Road 
in Tinicum, PA, and is the 
shortest bridge in Bucks County.
  5. Uhlerstown

    The Uhlerstown is the only bridge that crosses the Delaware Canal. 
It is located in Erwinna, PA, and was constructed in 1832.
  6. Knecht’s

    Also referred to as the Slifer’s Bridge, Knecht’s was created in 1873 and crosses Durham Creek in the Springfield Township.
  7. Sheard’s Mill

    Sheard’s Mill covered bridge was built in 1873 and is situated between East Rockhill and Haycock Townships on Covered Bridge Road, which extends over Tohickon Creek.
  8. Pine Valley

    This bridge is located in a more populated area than some of the other bridges, so expect to see more traffic. The Pine Valley can be found on Old Iron Hill Road in Chalfont, PA (at the New Britain and Doylestown junction).


Find more information on these covered bridges at www.visitbuckscounty.com/
about-bucks-county/maps/covered-bridge-tour-directions.