This museum has one of the largest vintage and antique motorcycle collections on display in America:
- 89,000 sq. feet of museum space
- Over 450 motorcycles
- Rare antique motorcycles such as a circa 1897 DeDion
- Bikes date from 1897 to present
- Military, police, and Harley-Davidson galleries
- One of the most extensive collections of Indian Motorcycles in existence
- Iconic choppers
- Extensive collection of movie and political motorcycle posters
In addition, Motorcyclepedia has three motordromes (aka The Wall of Death) set up in the museum basement and in the parking lot. These structures consist of a large upright cylinder constructed of wooden planks. The audience stands on a steel platform near the top of the wooden cylinder while a daredevil rides a motorcycle up the vertical wall of the cylinder. Periodic demonstrations are scheduled at the museum.
History: The Motorcyclepedia Museum opened on April 16th 2011. Over 60 years of collecting by Jerry Doering, who raced Indians in the late 1940s, has created the world’s only Indian Motorcycle Time Line, with at least one example of the historic marque from numerous consecutive years.
Notable Events: The growing prominence of the Motorcyclepedia Museum is underlined by these recent and near-future events:
- September 7, 2012: Motorcyclepedia Museum hosted the departure of the 2012 Cannonball Run, beginning with a pre-race breakfast for the 77 riders and their support crews, before they embarked on their cross-country journey on pre-1930 motorcycles.
- September 7, 2012: The new Kaizen exhibit is the first in America dedicated exclusively to classic Japanese motorcycles. “Kaizen” is a Japanese word that means “beneficial change.” It is also the business philosophy of constant incremental improvement that enabled the Japanese to revolutionize the world motorcycle market.
- September 15, 2012: On this day the museum will celebrate the late Indian Larry’s custom motorcycle creations. Members of Indian Larry’s crew from Brooklyn will be there, along with Indian Larry memorabilia and magazines in a special display.
Address: 250 Lake Street, Newburgh, NY 12550
Telephone: (845) 569-9065
Hours: Friday & Saturday: 10:00am to 5:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am to 5:00pm
Admission: Adults $10, ages 3-12 $5, and children under 3 years are free.